Eating Low Carb


I’ve been eating low carb for so long that I’m guessing I eat foods lots of other folks might consider a little off plumb. Some I eat because they are easy and fit my lifestyle, others are substitutes for the incredibly unhealthy things we have out there in the American diet.

For instance, eliminating virtually all grains and all simple sugars – especially high fructose corn syrup – would astound most people. No donuts? No pasta? No cookies or cake? Okay, now and then I have a melt down and have a little. I’m no saint, but for the most part, I am gluten free and simple sugar free.

So what to do for “bread” products? The gluten free mixes are not sugar free or low carb, by any means. However, I have found one substitute that even my non-low carber friends love. It began as a simple Atkins board recipe and has evolved in my kitchen.

In fact, the latest iteration is so good I’m wondering if there is a commercial bakery application in here somewhere. Probably not – since that would involve food stabilizers and the like – but a cook can dream, can’t she?

Who here hates peanut butter? Chocolate haters? You can stop reading now. But for the rest of the folks who want a healthful alternative, read on.

This is a bread substitution (call it a sweet bread or “muffin”) that is made in a microwave safe bowl in the microwave. It is simple and fast – can be used for breakfast or a snack, can be cooled and taken along for the day. It is not low calorie (no muffin is) and it is not low fat, but it is relatively low carb and very high protein.

So here goes…

In a magic bullet cup (or other blender of your choice):
1 egg (I use jumbo)
1/4 cup flaxseed meal (finely milled) – either golden or brown to your taste
1/4 cup Calorie Countdown dairy beverage
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 packet artificial sweetener of your choice
2 tablespoons natural peanut butter (I use Skippy)
1 scoop protein powder (I use UNJURY Chocolate Splendor)

When totally mixed, pour into a microwave safe bowl.

Put on a plate, in case of overflow. Nuke on high for 1.5-2 minutes (depending on your microwave strength) – Serve hot or warm. It is okay cold, but incredible when warm.

With my ingredients I get about 30 grams protein, about 11 grams carbs. If you make this while there are chocolate and peanut butter lovers in the house you’d better have enough for everyone or a magic wand to keep them away. Ditto any dog that loves peanut butter.

I can’t eat an entire one of these – lots of fiber and very filling, so for me I’m getting 15 grams protein and about 5.5 grams carbs per serving.

Good for lacto-ovo vegetarians, low-carbers and folks who are on the see it-eat it non-diet.

Leave a Reply

