2015


Here starts a new year. I admit that since the wretched catastrophe that befell me in May of 2013 I have been more out of the game of blogging than in it. That is what happens with multiple fractures impeding typing with a dose of traumatic head injury on the side.

However, my adventures as a Boomer Hard of Hearing (HoH) person have taken a new turn and perhaps deserve a new look at things.

This morning, whilst walking the wee little doggie near a beach in Baja California a local taxi drove by and a cherub faced manIMG_3719 leaned out the window (bless his hearty nature as it was almost freezing last night and barely 40 by then) with a broad smile on his face and said the same things I have heard Charlie Brown’s mother say in cartoons for years: Waaah, waaaaah, waaaaah, waaaaaah.

Since I was picking up dog poop at the time I wasn’t sure if the message was “Thank you for cleaning up after the dog.” or “Isn’t this a lovely day?” or “I’m so happy to have survived the cold last night.” or possibly “Happy New Year!

In addition to the normal confusion of folks with hearing loss  I am HoH in the land of the Spanish speakers. And my attempts at learning Spanish are pitiful, sad to say.

Before I could just be the sometimes gracefully aging (sometimes not so gracefully aging) woman who looks confused because she cannot hear well. I am aware I might be confused for someone with mild dementia because of my sometimes nonsensical responses to questions I mishear. Now I am the woman who wonders if it is the language, the accent, or the fact she’s still largely deaf as a post that is on point.

So I smile back, I wave, and I hope that I have not committed to robbing a bank. “Le gustaría robar un banco ?” (Please forgive any blatant linguist errors as I am using google translate.) It is this sort of deaf nod that can get people with hearing loss in trouble deep.

My replacement hearing aid (HA) should be here within a month. But even then it is unlikely I will wear a HA to walk the dog since I am almost always alone when that happens. The dog has other ways of letting me know what is happening other than talking to me.

Internally I now giggle a little. I can now be the gringa who doesn’t understand Spanish and forgiven for that by the locals far more than Americans ever forgive non-English speakers. Although, I must admit that when I just don’t respond at all it must be frustrating for them as it is when I am in the US and don’t respond at all because I don’t hear the warning or question.

Today I will hope the words I didn’t really hear were “Feliz Año Nuevo.”  Happy New Year.

And a Happy New Year to all of you from one of me. 😀

Leave a Reply

