Quiet Advocacy


A couple of weeks ago I was interacting with someone locally and realized that each time she looked down I stopped talking, starting only again when she looked up.  I told her I 20131031-110603.jpgdidn’t realize I was treating like she was hard of hearing.

Guess what?  She was hard of hearing.  Not only that, she has progressive hearing loss.  And she can’t afford hearing aids.

She had no idea that Mass Rehab could help her so that she didn’t lose her job due to hearing loss.  She was awed that I had information that could help her that I willingly provided.

We got disconnected while my daughter was ill and just reconnected recently.  This time I wrote all the instructions down including what she needed to have once her 90 wait period was up.  She was so thankful.

So many people go through life never knowing there are services to help them.  I wish I knew a way to fix that. I guess all I can do is just keep on being a one person at a time advocate.

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

