Another Ear Infection Another Hospital Visit


I can only describe it as having “mumps of the ear.” What made it so bad is that I was medicating for post-surgical knee pain and it also covered the pain of an fulminating external ear infection.  By the time I realized I was in trouble I couldn’t get my HA in and my face was starting to puff up. Such fun!  And I was with the grandkids so had to wait until I was “off duty” (so to speak).  On the good side, the ER wasn’t busy at that time of night.

At least this time I could do my own voicing. I couldn’t hear worth beans, though, and I felt a little bit like I was acting Autistic doing my rocking in the chair with my hand over my ear. I guess we all get that way when the pain gets bad enough.

The doctor couldn’t get the scope in my ear far enough to see if I had an inner ear infection; partly because the ear canal sorta swelled shut, and partly because pulling the top of the earlobe up made me sorta try to duplicate the look of the poor soul pictured in “the scream.”

When the doctor saw me rocking from the sharp stabbing pain (I tried to ignore the burning, throbbing, and itching) I got a couple of Tylenol on board and the nurse did her best to get ear drop into the ear canal. More imitations of “the scream” from me.  Then came a prescription for stronger ear drops to fill when the pharmacies opened the next day, and another prescription for oral antibiotics too. Gonna kill this junk since this was my second late-night visit for an ear infection since December.  I think they’d rather we not keep meeting like this. 🙂

Since the ear drops I left with didn’t have much of an effect (I still had ear mumps the following morning) I filled the scripts the next day. I still have a tiny bit of swelling, but it no longer looks like I have ear mumps and today I was able to jam the newly cleaned HA in for awhile. Still some swelling in the canal and around the ear, but there is a definite improvement. I am sure the grandkids would disagree on that since I’m still doing a lot of deaf nodding when I realize that the only way I am going to understand is if they text me.

I’ve been told that if I get a CI I can avoid these infections since what causes them is my allergy to the silicone and plastics that fit in the ear canal. Unfortunately, I’m apparently not a candidate for a CI since I’m not going to offer up my one “good” ear and the “bad” ear is totaled.

I can’t remember having one ear infection before I started wearing a HA. Now it is nothing but trouble. Sometimes I wonder if it is worth it. If I lived in a Deaf community I doubt I’d bother with a HA except for rare occasions. Since I’m starting to lose sirens (unless they’re REALLY close) I’m not sure they even help much with emergencies on the road.  I just rubberneck all the time.

2 comments

    1. Ahh, Vegan Dee, it is just “Another Day in Paradise.” I often remember that things could be worse. I could have died when I fell down the stairs, or been terribly brain damaged, or been totally paralyzed or … instead I get to to live (with a few surgery dates and lots of PT) and kvetch now and then. And my daughter (who has been hospitalized for so long) is coming home soon.

      Life is an adventure or it is nothing at all, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

