The fake sign language interpreter: A need for leadership intervention just like Mandela called it


Cogent thoughts on the Mandela interpreter debacle

kramissah

I thought a lot about the incident at Dr. Mandela’s funeral related to the fake sign language interpreter,  http://www.cnn.com/2013/12/11/world/africa/mandela-memorial-fake-intepreter/?hpt=hp_zite1_featured.  I struggled to find the words to express my sorrow to the Mandela family because this drew attention and continues to draw attention from honoring him, remembering his great deeds, and spending precious time with his family to celebrate his memory.  At the same time it gave me a chuckle (don’t misunderstand, please read on).

Here are my two cents.  First, for those who don’t know who I am. I am a Ghanaian, born and raised and moved to the U.S. when I was a teen.  I can’t believe how time has flown!  I have spent half of my life in the U.S among Hearing people and currently spending time in both Hearing and Deaf communities.

I agree with all the reactions around the globe.  It is…

View original post 3,460 more words

Leave a Reply

