It’s all perspective in the end


I “hear” hearies railing about how deafies don’t listen and deafies railing about how hearies drive them nuts – and then there are the HoH who consider themselves “hearing impaired” which the Deaf find offensive since they are merely deaf, not impaired.  There are the Deaf enough to be Deaf Culture and the deaf who are not Deaf Culture and then the Deaf who are idolized for coming from generations of Deaf parents and grandparents.  The Deaf find the deaf annoying and usually are totally anti-CI and then the CI crowd finds the Deaf who don’t believe in CI’s to be old sticks in the mud.  So there!  Sounds like life happening.  🙂

What brought up this stream of consciousness is Baby Dog.  I take ‘Kinley out to “potty” several times a day.  Unlike some areas of the country, we have lots of bugs – honey bees, wasps (some absolutely gigantic!), and also bumblebees.  Now, bumblebees are the giants of the bee kingdom, in general.  And when they are bumbling from one clover flower to the next they can give Baby Dog quite a start.  I got to thinking.  That bumblebee is as big as her nose.  Maybe a bit bigger.  Can you imagine a bumblebee as big as YOUR NOSE flying up to say “Hello!“?

Yeah, me neither.  No wonder she jumps and runs.  If I had a bee that size come over to bid me a good morning I’d probably wonder if this were Jurassic Park or something.  It is bad enough with the wasps that are the size of half-dollars (I kid thee not).  They occasionally terrorized the 17 year old granddaughter when she tries coming in the front door.  I didn’t believe her until I saw one myself.

So, as with virtually all things, it is all a matter of perspective.  From my perspective she is just perfect, but I think from her perspective she’d like to be a bit bigger than the bumblebees.

Note:  Follow the link to learn more about the bumblebee.  They are really quite remarkable creatures!

4 comments

  1. I’ve noticed that a lot of people do get caught up on the labels when you have lost some or all of your hearing. (how’s that for not stepping on toes?)
    I think it’s silly, we all tackle at least some of the same problems. No a person with a CI, like me, may not be deaf all the time, but I’m not one of those who suddenly got amazing hearing when she got her CI. I still have to have people look straight at me, read lips, use closed captions…ect. And I’m trying to learn at least basic sign. I am not prejudice against anyone who chooses not to get a CI, unless, like one friend, the person is late deafened, knows no sign, worries constantly about not hearing and complains about it, but she is afraid to get a CI…it’s not a cultural thing with her, I think I’m the only other person she knows who is deaf, it’s just fear of change. She’d rather complain about being left out than try to change that.

    I admire people who are late deafened and pick up sign language so easily. It is a foreign language, and I’m old. : ) But my husband and I are learning it bit by bit, at least what we need to communicate. When I have migraines I don’t even wear my CI, it hurts, so sign is very helpful.

    About the bumble bees…I think some around here are as big as my nose…but I’m much bigger than my nose, so again, it’s all in perspective.

    Baby girl is the cutest!

    1. Yups, Wendy, we humans are kinda like that – we like to sort people out in neat little stacks and label them. Sometimes I do it too. It can be convenient until it becomes a problem. I can say 7 year olds are in 2nd grade, but sometimes older and younger kids are there too, so it works until it doesn’t work. And when it becomes a barrier then it really doesn’t work.

      Apparently, the younger the child is when they get a CI the better the adaption. Also, the closer to losing hearing functionality the adult is the better the result with a CI. Then there are various kinds of CIs and some work better for some than others, but you need to make the right choice before the install – from what I’ve seen. I am not a CI candidate due to the type of hearing loss I have. (shrugs)

      I can’t stand sound when I have a bad headache so I take out my hearing aid and try to keep everything quiet. I often think I’m fortunate that I can essentially turn down the sound. Hearies need earplugs.

  2. It isn’t all Deaf who oppose CI’s, and its actually more like opposing not having a fully accessible language (especially in children). Is opposing focusing on the “weakest” sense instead of a stronger one. It’s focusing on being able to say words correctly instead of being able to communicate. Adults can make their own choices… By unfortunately still today parents are being told that if a deaf child learns to sign, they won’t learn to speak, they will read at a 4th grade level for the rest of their lives and will end up begging on the streets… We oppose misinformation… Not necessarily the CI’s themselves. I know many (myself included) who have a CI (or two) and are still Deaf

    1. Hi there Deaf Girl,

      Long time no see. 🙂

      Which goes to show that YMMV (Your Mileage May Vary) in that not all Deaf hate CIs and not all Deaf approve of them, either.

      I’ve been hammered by many in the greater Boston Deaf Community for not being Deaf enough to be a part of the community, and also wanting (demanding) to know if I’d ever get a CI (because then I positively was not really Deaf). OTOH I know a couple of Deaf who got CIs and who are not CI phobic, but like you are more interested in fully accessible language in children and adults.

      It’s a matter of perspective. And I do wish that more folks were inclusive – the hearing, the Deaf, the deaf, etc. And bumblebees, of course. 🙂

Leave a Reply

