Job hunting for the HoH


Since practicing law isn’t something I’m going to be doing much of for a while (except for pro-bono), and since I’ve lost my base of operations for my part-time legally blind/deaf clients, and since I can now think straight (or as straight as I ever did) and drive (wooo hoo) I thought I’d look for a PT job for the summer.  Something simple.  Easy.  Flexible.  Giving me time for physical therapy, child care, and rest – since I tend to get busy one day and then train wreck for at least a day afterwards.

You know, something simple, easy, requiring minimal hearing skills and no lifting or carrying.  Uh-huh.  I’ve been looking at PT Senior Citizen focused jobs and so far my best fit is a Friendly’s Restaurant Greeter.  There are jobs at the local Dunkin Donuts, but apparently there’s lifting involved, and actually hearing people make an order.  I’ve pondered the headset and my hearing aid.

I have written to DBCAN and told them I’m no longer in the area I used to serve.  Perhaps I can pick a couple of clients up out in this area.  Maybe.   Not like there’s a thick concentration of folks in this area since the “big city” is Leominster.

I’m also trying to volunteer at a battered women’s alliance, but so far I have not gotten a response.  Sort of miserable when you can’t give your services away.  Not the first time that’s happened, either.

I know that this summer I’ll have the little ones on Mondays and Wednesdays as well as alternate Fridays, so that will keep me off the streets and out of trouble.  Tuesdays, Thursdays, alternate Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays are pretty much my own – most of the time – time for plans, for PT, for exercise, for finding a place to live – all those fun things.

In the meantime, the check is in the mail (as soon as the bank gets around to sending it) to get Deaf Justice up and running.  I have to make contacts with HEARD and figure out who to contact at some law schools – and then I need to talk to the fund raiser AFTER she gets out of rehab for that miserably broken leg.  I was just about at lift-off there before my life made a left turn and crashed into splinters at the bottom of a flight of stairs.

Life!  It’s what happens when we are making plans.

 

Leave a Reply

