I don’t understand…


Really, I don’t.  Why does someone leave a TV on (very loud – blaring) to make an important business call to another person?  I finally turned the TV down because it was giving me a headache.

Thanks to the Grat 1’s Media, Photobucket

Honestly, I have no idea how the person on the other side of the phone could hear anything said on this side of the phone, and I have no idea how the individual on this side of the phone could hear anything over the very loud noises from the TV.  It is one of those WTF moments I have from time to time  — when someone complains about my loud voice and then have conversations over the phone with a TV screaming in the room.  Nope, I just don’t get it.

Maybe BitcoDavid can clear this up.  Is this something like headphones plugging out extraneous sound?  Only, I know that the phone can amplify the sound of the room right back into the headset unless you put your hand over the mouthpiece.  Hearing people!  Who understand’s ’em?

It is quiet in my room and my hearing aid is out and off.  Ahhh….. so nice.

2 comments

  1. I think the thing about hearing people is, often we are unaware of how our actions impact the HoH and Deaf. For example, I tend to talk to myself when working. (I never noticed it before.) So last night, for instance, you would ask me what I was saying – because I wasn’t looking at you, or speaking distinctly, which is so necessary to communicate with the HoH. I wasn’t saying anything. Simply an ignorant habit. Likewise, leaning forward to pick something up, while people on either side of me were talking in Sign.

    The same holds true with TV and other background noise sources. The hearing learn to filter these noises out, and can still hear the individual we’re talking too, and they can still hear us. So, if the TV is on – or more commonly in my case, music – and I need to make a call, I will often forget to turn it off.

    It’s difficult to put yourself in another’s shoes (5 finger or otherwise 🙂 ) and to train yourself to be able to communicate with people who are working in a different environment than your own. People come to me for tech support, but as I try to help them, I often omit important steps. It’s not because I’m trying to be unhelpful, it’s simply that those steps don’t occur to me because I take them for granted. This is the same thing. Working with the HoH requires that the hearing person relearn some basic communication skills, that we may never have had to use before.

    Lastly, it occurs to me that this is a generational thing. My parents would always insist that the TV be off when someone was on the phone. Younger generations tend to be a bit more rude – or maybe casual might be the better word. There were formalities our elders maintained, many of which we – and our children – have abandoned.

    1. A generational thing does make sense. In my world one did not leave a TV on if someone came over to visit. Our home phone doubled as a business phone and nothing was to interfere with that. I tend to be even more respectful than most of my generation, to the point many people believe I’m former military due to the yes and no Ma’am and Sir that’s embedded in my subconscious. I was raised to be spit and polish, in that regard. I may be casual about what is clean (I’m not germ phobic), but regarding manners I tend to be rather formal.

      And, for years, while I like to listen to music, I also turn it down when someone is over because I need to hear. I don’t play music in the car unless my passenger is napping or we agree to listen to something. I also can’t afford to have noise distract me while driving.

      I’ve become aware, over time, that groups of hearing people can sit around in a group and talk over the top of each other and understand what is going on. What I like about Deaf conversations in ASL is that even though there may be 10 people conversing it is usually one person signing and one or two others reading the sign. No one “talks over” the others, and if you try you are reminded they only have two eyes. 🙂

      I find that as a society we are desensitizing to sound. I go to restaurants and the sound is near or above 80 db. I’m positive there are times at Best Buy that it far exceeds 80 db of noise. I am rendered functionally deaf. I asked Geek Squad staff and they said they don’t even notice it anymore – which is sort of terrifying when one realizes how bad the impact can be to their hearing over time.

      Thanks for the explanation. I often don’t attend functions because I simply cannot deal with all the noise. I am rendered functionally deaf and it seems a waste of time to bother going. I not make connections while climbing Weir Hill with or without the dog, but I’m alo not overwhelmed with external stimuli not of a natural nature.

Leave a Reply

