Pushing the limits of experience


An individual of my acquaintance who happens to be legally deaf and legally blind has been teaching me about limitations and how to push the envelope.

One day when we were at a large box store with an electric shopping cart this person hopped in
one and decided that day was the day to see if it could be done. I found myself wanting to give unsolicited advise about how bad an idea this was. Instead, I bit my tongue, developed a few
more white hairs and reminded myself – “Friend, not parent.” In the end, only an aisle display met up with the back of the cart, and I didn’t get a nudge until the check out line got crowded. Most of the problems were in my own mind and of my own making (or dread).

Sometimes when we see someone with a limitation we figure there is no ability to expand a boundary.

But what if we are the ones who are wrong? Are we the ones who are disabled by an inability to see beyond perceived limitations? When there is a situation which is low-risk, why not step back and allow for experience and experimentation? There’s always another bottle of hair dye, after all – and perhaps a bit of deep conditioning and split end reduction.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

