Independence Day


Independence day reminds me of the day I left home for college. The day my daughter left for a life of her own with her new family. The day my Mother died and I had to independently parent myself, asking WWMD (What Would Mom Do?).

On July 4th we celebrate a day when our country made a decision to become independent of it’s creators. Like most moves from interdependence or dependence, it wasn’t easy for either side and there was more than a little fear, conflict and general blood, sweat and tears.

I’d like to think that we’re all the better for it.

Leave a Reply

