It’s a dog’s life…cookies


I know that the dog is too spoiled when I take one of his specialty sandwich type cookies, twist them apart, offer him the one without the sweet filling on it in exchange for responding to a training command and he eyeballs me as if I am insane.

There is no response to “come” no lying on the floor in response to “down.”  He’s suddenly become deaf as a stone. He simply stares at the bare cookie half in my hand with disbelief in his eyes.

A minute later I twist the halves back together and his highness then deigns to do some training tricks in exchange for the entire cookie.  And to think that my old farm dog would come for kibble.

Leave a Reply

