And it’s a tossup


While I like my iCom and hearing my phone through my hearing aid, I think it is a tossup when it comes to the folks who are on the other end of the phone.  Some say they hear me just fine while others ask me if I am on a speaker phone since they get reverberation.   Apparently, microphone placement is critical and I wear mine around my neck.  Then again, I’ve had the iCom under a coat and the gent I was talking to heard me just fine.  Go figure.

From my end, I’ve never heard better in my life (that I can remember) and certainly I’ve never heard this well on any phone, ever. However, communication is a two-way street. Um, hello? Can you hear me now?

2 comments

  1. I just popped over to my Audiology Support Team here at Phonak Canada to get some advice for you. Basically, we need to get the microphone on the iCom closer to your mouth They have 2 suggestions. First, you could use an elastic band to gently shorten the loop so the the microphone is closer to the mouth. Or, you could use the ComPilot which is the newer version of an iCom. The ComPilot allows you to add a lapel microphone which would be clipped closer to your mouth. Both should help.

  2. Thanks for your input, Peter. Unfortunately, I’m all tapped out for new Phonak appliances so a ComPilot is not in my future. Maybe the rubber band will be the ticket. It is not like I have a quiet voice, I am told.

Leave a Reply

