Since I’ve largely gone to commenting on hearing loss and since I love dogs I want to share this very touching commentary with you. I hope all my friends who love their pets will take the time to read this and to wish Amie more days, weeks, and months of joyous life.

Deafened But Not Silent.

As you may know, dear reader, my Hearing Ear Dog “Amie” has been living with cancer in her bladder (invasive transitional cell carcinoma) for some time now.  In fact, it has been almost 20 months ago that we were given the news that she may only have 2 months to live.  Somehow, she has beaten the odds and has survived much longer than expected.  All the vet can tell us is “Keep doing what you are doing.  I am not sure what it is is, but it seems to be working!”  To be honest, I am not sure either.

My wife and I were reflecting on the impact Amie has had on our lives.  In addition, how how Amie has changed my personality.

Here are some of the lessons Amie has taught me:

  1. Praise is Better than Punishment for Changing Behavior.  Amie never responded well to being punished.  She…

View original post 659 more words

Leave a Reply

