The United States Marines


I was with my ASL group, working on our signing skills when two young men walked by our booths at the mall. One was a typical teenager with causal clothes, scruffy hair and a ring his lower lip – sort of semi-formed on his way to manhood. Beside him strode a Marine in his dress blues.

Neither of them looked like they were old enough to need a shave, but the difference between them was striking.  Not surprisingly, the young Marine would have done his commanding officer proud with his military bearing. I don’t know if the young civilian guy was a friend or a potential recruit or both.

I wanted to jump up and thank that young Marine for his service, as I usually do when I see members of the Armed Forces.Then I wanted to weep, because they both looked like teenagers.

Old men start wars. Young men die in them.

Leave a Reply

