Wheat and Weight Loss – or Gain


Over the past 3 and half years I’ve lost 120 pounds of fat. I know it is fat rather than lean mass because I check the percentile of body fat. During most of this time I have been a strict low-carber which means meats, cheeses, veggies, fruits, and limited dairy. No grains – nada – and darn little in the area of nutritive sweeteners unless called for during sports activities.

Cameron Diaz is reported to weigh 120 pounds.  Imagine what it would be like to have to carry her everywhere you went.  Pleasant view, perhaps, but not much fun – at least not for me.  Especially if I had to carry her purse, too.

Early this year I started stretching my carb boundaries. After all, I was in weight training 5 days a week – also cardio.  It was INTENSE.  Grain crept back in – a little here, a little there.  It has a way of filling a spot you didn’t know needed filled. Full, but not for long – it goes away quickly. And oddly enough, despite working like a draft horse at harvest, I was not losing weight or fat.

Made contact with the Wheat Belly concept and concluded it was time to go cold turkey again.

You have no idea how hard it is to start stripping away all the things with wheat in them.  I’m back to analyzing – can I have this product if it was made in a factory where wheat is also processed?  And I had gotten used to forays (now and then) into sourdough bread.  For god’s sake, the second ingredient in licorice is wheat.

Still and all, in the time I’ve been being uber careful I’ve lost 2 pounds. 38 more to go.  Repeat after me.  Wheat Belly!  Wheat Belly!  Wheat Belly!  Read the Wheat Belly Blog if you’re really serious about weight loss – and keeping it off!

 

4 comments

  1. I recently (Friday) started unloading the wheat from my diet as I am having some gastrointestinal problems that are baffling the medical establishment – you know, the ones who order lots of tests and scans because I have good insurance. I have had a tremendous headache since yesterday morning but that is easing up and I cannot believe how much happier my stomach is already. I’m going to stick with it for awhile.

    I had to go back and re-read your first sentence – 120 pounds is amazing. Congratulations. I’d like to do that, too.

    1. You’d be surprised how many people are gluten intolerant even if they do not have Celiac. And you’d be surprised how many people are not diagnosed with Celiac until they have terrible, irreversible problems. A good friend of mine ended up self-diagnosing Celiac and after stopping all gluten her health is rapidly improving. In her case, they thought she was having heart problems that were actually Celiac symptoms.

      Stopping high carbing with wheat often causes an almost flu-like effect for a few days with headaches and a general malaise. Then you get better – until the next infusion of wheat or other grains. I know one man who stopped all grains at my suggestion. The swelling in his legs went down almost overnight and he’s lost about 30 pounds in three months (not bad). One day he decided a little pasta would not hurt. Before he finished the bowl of pasta his legs started swelling and it took a good week to reverse the effects of the grain.

      Good for you! You are making a wonderful start by getting wheat out of your diet. I look forward to hearing your journey to a healthier you!

  2. I read that the headache and flu-like symptoms could be expected, so I wasn’t totally surprised. I do have to say I have been peeing like crazy and my hands and feet are a lot less puffy than normal, already, and this is only day 3. I am gathering low carb recipes and when this headache gets better, going to make a sweep of the kitchen and restock. Any good sites you can recommend?

  3. You have hit the mother load when you are talking LC recipes and support. 🙂

    http://www.eons.com/groups/group/lose-weight-the-low-carb-way – a boomer social networking site with a Low Carb forum

    Hold the Toast – http://holdthetoast.com/ Note: Dana Carpender’s recipe books on low carbing are the best I’ve ever run into. Just ignore some of the old recipes that use vital wheat gluten

    FaceBook – http://www.facebook.com/pages/Wheat-Belly/209766919069873 – the wheat belly page

    http://www.wheatbellyblog.com/ – the blog that compliments the FB page

    Your Lighter Side – http://blog.yourlighterside.com/p/eats-recipes.html

    I think these will keep you busy for awhile. 🙂 I’m on the Eons LC forum and it is both busy and chock full of information. One gal (now off elsewhere) lost about 80 pounds in short order.

    LC is a natural diuretic, so you’re going to find puffiness subsiding quickly.

    You’re going to have to learn to be a label reader. Wheat and HFCS is seemingly in everything. You’re going to learn to shop around the outside of the store and make meals the old fashioned way.

    Tonight I made sugar free, flour free carrot cake. I find I’m not really crazy about coconut flour because it is a bit dry for my taste, however, I think I can fix this recipe the next time around so it is not as dry. Tomorrow, when the cakes I made in muffin tins are good and dry/cold, I will freeze them.

    I also have great recipes for protein drinks using UNJURY protein (it is the best, IMO) and also killer flax meal recipes. Swear to Buddha that some of my flax meal products are so good that they are commercial quality.

Leave a Reply

