10 Ways Men Can Combat Sexist Entitlement in Public


Originally posted on Change From Within:

After the tragic mass murder in Isla Vista, CA in May, violence driven by Elliot Rodger’s misogyny and racism, countless women used the hashtag #YesAllWomen to voice the endless ways in which overt and microaggressive misogyny shows up in their everyday lives.  It was an incredible response to a terrible tragedy, one with the power to raise awareness of the constant assault on their lives, bodies, personhood, and livelihoods that women-identified people face.  I, along with a number of other pro-feminist men, called on men to read as many of the tweets and to reflect on what they cumulatively call on us to change.

Sadly, though, many men saw it as a chance to question and challenge women’s experiences with misogyny rather than to listen.

One of the most common refrains, despite the thousands of voices cumulatively calling on men to realize the harsh realities of misogyny, was “PROVE IT!”…

View original 1,966 more words

3 responses

  1. I really liked the blog post. But……. what’s blatantly apparent to me is that when men say this kind of stuff, people listen. But when a woman says it, not so much.

    1. True, sadly. Sexism is rampant.

  2. Thanks for sharing. I am not hit by misogyny in a long time. I used to be a lot when I was in the working world. It always amazed me that so many men thought they were entitled to so much. Now I’m surrounded by so many pro-feminist men in my life, it really surprises me when I’m faced with it. How can these wonderful men be this way, and these other men…including my father, be so sexist? It’s so sad. Why can’t we all just get along?

    I learned a lot from this blog post that had nothing really to do with the main story.
    One thing he said about addressing people by gender neutral pronouns until you know…I thought, what are gender neutral pronouns? I actually looked it up. It said using “they”. I grew up when they used “he” as gender neutral. “They” is plural. I have always hated seeing “they” used as a singular pronoun….now I guess it’s it is proper. And I’ve used it myself, when I didn’t know, and thought I was really bad grammar. English is an odd language.
    I have *Trans friends but I’ve always known which pronouns to use. (guess I should have asked one of them what to do in cases when I didn’t know, I shouldn’t just assume by looks)
    And I’d never heard of cisgender…I had to look that up.

    I haven’t been taking the time recently to read blog posts, but I’m glad I read this during one of my breaks today.
    I learned a lot….and found a great writer.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 332 other followers

