Kindle


I got myself a PaperWhite Kindle awhile ago in order to free up space on my other digital devices, and to make it possible for me to read in sunshine. I’m not sure I’m a particular fan of the size/shape. Maybe it is the severe deep tendonitis going on with my left arm/wrist/hand due to a pincer grip problem a few months ago.

It isn’t easy to fit in the hand like an iPhone, but I make do. It does have room for a ton of books.  I think I’m set for the next 20 years or so the last time I checked. I’m a prodigious reader.  Sadly, many of my reference books are not in epub formats of any kind, so I’m still lugging around some out of print books.

If I misplace my iPhone or iPad mini or even if one of my computers were stolen, I can find any of them. Yes, I have GPS on and am delighted with it.  The alarm is loud enough that if I’m in the general vicinity even *I* can hear it.

Kindle? Nope. To make it worse, it is black and, therefore, easy to overlook in shadowed areas. I’m forever and a day looking for the bloody thing.  An actual book is easier to see. This slim, black thing can become invisible. It slips under pillows on the couch, between couch cushions, under the pillow on the bed, under the bed – anywhere I might be found reading. This last time it took almost four days to locate. Long enough that I re-activated Kindle on my iPhone. :P

I’m going to have to get one of those electronic “tags” for it.

2 responses

  1. You can buy skins for the kindle. But because their screens are so delicate, I prefer a hardback cover for it instead. My skin for my first Kindle came from DecaGirl. http://www.decalgirl.com/skins/Kindle-Skins You could get one in some wild color you can see. Or a really bright color hard side cover.

  2. Thanks, Ann. I have a cover for it with a pocket for the plug-in, but not a skin. I might need to do that – something brightly colored. Day glow green perhaps. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 332 other followers

