Celebrate Three Significant Songs


There we have it – today’s Writing 101 prompt – 3 significant pieces of music.

I decided to write the response on AnotherBoomerBlog because this blog addresses being hard of hearing, deaf, and dealing with a society that is in large part uncaring about people who are differently able. The deaf, blind, hard of hearing, physically disabled, etc. are tidily brushed to the margins.

A room with a view (yesterday’s assignment) could be metaphorical. It could be the internal landscape of a blind person. Their room could be full of wonderful smells and things to touch. There is no internal metaphor for three significant pieces of music because when hearies (people who hear) think of music they think of sound.

My first boyfriend was born without auditory nerves and had zero ability to hear music. He had no concept of music as a hearie would understand it. He felt vibrations, and his old truck’s radio rumbled bass all the time. He build a removable back for a couch that housed a bass speaker so he could feel the rhythm of music.

I tried to insert a youtube video with no sound, only sign, but after 15 minutes of swearing I gave up.  :(  Feel free to go to the F-You song American Sign Language performance with no sound. For the following songs the hearie challenge is to turn off the sound. Next go to Hero – it is closed captioned for hearies and the hard of hearing. Frozen’s Let It Go is also captioned as are some of the others. Country Music is next – Farmer’s Daughter. Then there’s Story of my Life.  Imagine by John Lennon.  Just the Way You Are. Lastly, go to Sean Berdy and 10 dancing kids – don’t worry, you won’t lose an eardrum.

Adding the incredible expressiveness of ASL performances to music that often the signers can’t hear makes a performance that is – to my mind – superior to sound alone.  Let It Go gains a new dimension when you see them really let it go.  Seeing the tears in Hero adds a dimension.

So here is my twist – how many of you who don’t sign can provide me the three best ASL performances of your life that are the most meaningful to you?  No sound allowed – or at a level where you can’t understand the words. You can chose from the above or find something else. You’ll find that only songs with words are meaningful unless it is dance.

 

 

 

 

 

4 responses

  1. I take your challenge! I actually saw the first one without sound because my computer did not have it on at the time. I fell in love with it at first sight. I don’t know much sign (about a two year old vocabulary) but could still get the idea from the lovely video. I love the dance troupe at FSDB (interned there when I was in college so a bit partial).

    My current favorite: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ubUiXslx0qw

    Second in line (I happen to know the teacher she is singing to): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g_lRoYvrO3c

    Third for the moment: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8tP2R2GpGGg&list=PLC47DC24FBCEEA6A0

    FSDB graduation had the dance troupe signing current favorite songs of high school students. I hope they capture them on video – they are so beautiful.

    Love that you put the personal twist on this writing topic.

    1. Congratulations! You’re the first person to take the challenge on. As someone who is hard of hearing (bordering on deaf) I am perpetually wondering what the singer is actually saying. The F-U song was a favorite workout song and my daughter was scandalized. (shrugs).

      The first is so sweet. I’d never seen/heard it before. Maybe a new favorite. The second is very funny. The third reminds me of just how much I hated those pants back then. (laughing) Thanks so much for sharing. :)

  2. The Hero video was very moving…this made me feel like I will never learn ASL. I was so overwhelmed, even the words and phrases I know I couldn’t understand. But it’s beautiful. I guess with my CI’s I don’t really have to learn it, but I’d like to. It is overwhelming to me though.

    I just went to youtube and looked at some of the ASL songs without sound…I usually don’t have my CI’s on at home anyway…and I thought these were moving. \
    Black Eyed Peas – Eye Got a Feeling https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lGjS7TsODSM (I don’t know how to make it a link in a comment)
    you can’t see the signing as well in this one but it made me laugh so much I couldn’t help but list it. Save a Horse Ride a Cowboy http://anotherboomerblog.wordpress.com/2014/06/04/celebrate-three-significant-songs/#respond
    And this one is just Awesome! and I could follow some of the signs! Somebody that I Used to Know https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hUt4W8sE8Ns
    I have no idea what that song “sounds” like, but it was very moving.

    cool post….thanks.

    1. I love how the responders have picked different songs. :) I think this version of Save a Horse Ride a Cowboy is better. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n5-TpLhDaJk

      The fact is that ASL is not English so the grammar used by the signer is not Signed English. That may be hard for you.

      You can learn ASL – it is a use it or lose it thing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 332 other followers

