Time, time, time


I’m fully aware we’re all allotted the same 24 hours in a day. I also know my present feeling of sensory input overload must be how I am allocating them. It seems that time has been at a premium and I’m not getting done what I need to get done let alone what I want to do. Even sleeping is interrupted by the dreams of everything stacking up in my to-do list. Yikes!

However, I’ve just concluded my DBCAN training to be a certified Support Services Provider. I’d have my cert in hand had I not been laggard (hanging head in shame) about providing some of my documentation so my CORI has not been completed yet. Yet, the failure to provide all that was wanted at one time had to do with – yup, that time thing.

That being said, I am incredibly thankful I went through DBCAN training. Yes, it was a long drive and long hours. It was intense and wonderful and I was so thrilled to meet my fellow students. I met three incredible DeafBlind trainers and probably half a dozen very talented interpreters. Working with the DeafBlind is great, IMO. And I’m fully pre-trained in the privacy and confidentiality arena to the point I don’t even wish to be identified as a paraprofessional in public since that would be an invasion of the privacy of the consumer.

At any rate, as regards time, I’ve freed up 18 hours a week to do other things! Yes! And I will be able to use all of it raking up the leaves and bagging them for collection. (rolls eyes) I did about 4 hours yesterday before burning out. I’m told I can borrow a blower but the sound just kills me. I may do it anyway.

I’m also finishing up with MRC in Boston on a series of workshops and I’ve finished a VLP/Boston Bar mentoring session (for me) so my time in Boston will be dramatically reduced – less time on the road and the T. More time freed up. Thank God for small favors, since I need a good 40 hours of quality time to wrap up some issues hanging fire and I need to do it in the next 10 days or I’m going to go ’round the bend.

The mentoring session was another one of those things that was just perfect – the perfect confluence of events, the perfect meeting of the minds, the opening of doors and windows of potential opportunity.

And so, as we approach Thanksgiving I’m thankful for completing so many time drains, even if they have been productive. I’m happy with door and windows opening into my life. I still don’t know how to address the time thing and keep my sanity at the same time, but I think it is starting to come together.

Time, Time, Time, see what’s become of me, While I looked around for my possibilities. ~ Paul Simon

7 responses

  1. Congratulations on your DBCAN certification, Marsha! You will be an amazing advocate for all your clients.

    1. I hope so. Excellence is what I aim for. Thanks for the comment.

  2. Awesome post! LOOOOOVE me some Bangles.

    1. It was a toss up – Bangles or the original Paul Simon – since I’m female I went Bangles. :) Love the Bangles too…

  3. Oh! P.S. What Shanna said.

  4. I had problems deciphering all the letter abbreviations. Got stuck!

    1. Oops, well, the DBCAN letters are a link to the site where SSP’s are defined too. DBCAN is DeafBlind Community Action Network. SSP are Support Service Providers. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 336 other followers

